July Wrap Up // Books

Guess who got to read a ton this month?  It was actually me this time, what a surprise.  Since I’ve got a lot to get through, let’s get started.  I’ve linked the ones I reviewed in more detail, and I’m going by the ratings I originally gave these titles on GoodReads.

Goodnight Darth Vader, Darth Vader and Son, and Darth Vader and Friends by Jeffrey Brown

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Really cute.  I think I read all of these in one day.  I would definitely recommend if you’re a Star Wars fan.

dark prophecy

The Trials of Apollo: The Dark Prophecy by Rick Riordan

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Rick Riordan’s books are always fun.  However, this is definitely not the place to start.  The Dark Prophecy is the second book in The Trials of Apollo Series, which is a sequel series to The Heroes of Olympus series, which was a sequel series to the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series.  Please do yourself a favor and start with The Lightning Thief.  Now all I have to do is catch up with Magnus Chase and The Gods of Asgard and The Kane Chronicles…

imperium

The Wicked and The Divine Vol. 5 by Kieron Gillen

Rating: ⭐⭐

I continue to read this series because I loved it’s beginning so much, and I really just want to see how it all ends.  I’m very disappointed with the treatment of specific religions and mythologies, specifically Shintoism and Greek mythology.  This is not the time and the place for my rant though, so just do yourself a favor and only read the first three volumes in the series.

ms marvel

Ms. Marvel Vol. 7 by G. Willow Wilson

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Where The Wicked and The Divine fails me, this series just gives me faith in humanity.  Definitely start with Volume 1 of G. Willow Wilson’s run on Ms. Marvel, it’s very worth it.

amulet

Amulet #4 by Kazu Kibuishi

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

This is such an imaginative series for middle-graders, and in graphic novel format!  I hope that as graphic novels slowly become more accepted into the mainstream, we see more series for children like this.

the final empire

The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

My Full Review

Ugh this series is so good.  My boyfriend and I agreed that it contains some of the Top Ten Anime Battles of All Time and that Brandon Sanderson is definitely a weeb like us.

martian

The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Very thought provoking.  I was definitely expecting more though, since Fahrenheit 451 is one of my all-time favorite dystopian novels.  I loved the short story format, and his wonderful writing style always amazes me.  It’s a very fascinating commentary on 1950’s society, which makes the space travel element all the more interesting.

doom patrol

Doom Patrol Vol. 1 by Gerard Way

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Listen: Gerard Way is one of the best writers of all time and I would read his grocery lists if he made them public.  Do not let the fact that this is the lead singer of My Chemical Romance fool you.  Every comic written by this Eisner award-winning author is a gem and I am stoked for the upcoming Umbrella Academy Netflix series.  This particular volume is a reboot of the Doom Patrol team in the DC universe.  Way took a lot of inspiration from Grant Morrison’s run back in the 80’s, but as someone who’s never read it I still enjoyed this version of the characters thoroughly.  You could definitely start here if you’re interested in jumping in.

The Grim Grotto, The Penultimate Peril, and The End by Lemony Snicket

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

I rated each of these 4 out of 5 stars on GoodReads.  This was my first reading of the series, and I’m honestly sad that I never had the chance to read these as a kid.  I think they would have been a lot more enjoyable to a youngling version of myself.  I’m probably going to do an entire review of the series on here, since I’m planning on starting the Netflix series at some point.

letters

The Beatrice Letters by Lemony Snicket

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

It was a good spin-off for A Series of Unfortunate Events, told in a concise epistolary format.  I would definitely read the series before diving into this though.  It contains spoilers from the 13th book.

Well that’s all, folks.  I’ve got a lot of books I would still like to finish before I go to school this fall, so stay tuned for more reviews. ✌

(Pictures courtesy of GoodReads)

Leave a Reply

