July Wrap-Up // Movies

I definitely saw some great movies this month, but the bad ones were…really bad.  All the movies I wrote reviews for have links to their posts on the titles. Let’s get started!

alien

Alien (1979)

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 10/10 Stars

This movie has become one of my favorite sci-fi as well as horror movies of all time.  Good story, great acting, the effects hold up, etc.  This is probably my top recommended of the month.

spiderman

Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 8/10 Stars

Absolutely spectacular (see what I did there?).  Tom Holland as Peter Parker is so small and adorkable I just want to give the guy a hug.  Interestingly, this was the only movie I saw in theaters in July since the theater game was so weak this month.

xx

XX (2017)

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐ 3/10 Stars

Really bad, but that’s what I was expecting.  My friend and I purposely try the find the worst movie we can on Netflix and give it a go.  This was one of them.

wargames

Wargames (1983) (Rewatch)

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 7/10 Stars

I watched this family favorite at the cabin on vacation.  I hadn’t seen it since I was about 10, so I thought it was pretty cool that I could understand all the computer jargon now.  Hollywood’s view of hackers is still hilarious to me.

1958

The Fly (1968)

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 8/10 Stars

This is a really good classic monster movie.  If you want to start somewhere with the classics, then this is a great one.  It’s on Netflix currently so you have no excuse.

1986

The Fly (1986)

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 9/10 Stars

Probably one of the only remakes I like just as much as the original.  The only reason it has a higher rating is for the top-notch body horror.

beauty and

Beauty and the Beast (2014)

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐ 3/10 Stars

So…so bad.  The French should never be allowed to touch their own fairytales again.

werewolf

Werewolf of London (1935)

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 6/10 Stars

Pretty decent.  I’m working through all the classic Universal monster movies right now, and this one was next.  I wish Lon Chaney Jr. had been in it, though.  He’s really the best classic werewolf.

catwoman

Catwoman (2004)

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 7/10 Stars

So bad it was good.

scream

Scream (1996)

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 9/10 Stars

This was so much fun!  All the horror references in this movie made me really excited for no reason whatsoever, and the story was also great.

yoga hosers

Yoga Hosers (2016)

Rating: ⭐ 1/10 Stars

Never knew I’d accidentally watch the sequel to Tusk (2014) after vowing to never watch another Kevin Smith movie again.  My friend and I thought this looked like a promising bad flick on Netflix, and we were not disappointed.  The sad part was that it wasn’t even a fun bad, just a weird bad with a lot of cameos.

So there you have it, folks!  The movies I saw this month definitely came from the entire spectrum of the rating scale.

Leave a Reply

