The Final Empire (Mistborn Book One) SPOILER FREE

The Final Empire (Mistborn Book One) – Brandon Sanderson

“In a world where ash falls from the sky, and mist dominates the night, an evil cloaks the land and stifles all life. The future of the empire rests on the shoulders of a troublemaker and his young apprentice. Together, can they fill the world with color once more?

In Brandon Sanderson’s intriguing tale of love, loss, despair and hope, a new kind of magic enters the stage — Allomancy, a magic of the metals.”GoodReads

This book was absolutely stunning.  I’ve been reading it alongside my boyfriend in our summer bookclub (yes, we are sickeningly cute), and we finally finished this beast of a book shortly before I sat down to write this.  We’ve heard nothing but great things about The Final Empire from our friends, who were promising us that it was the next best thing after The Kingkiller Chronicles in modern fantasy.  Well, we were not let down.

I think the most intriguing aspect of this book is the complex magic system.  Allomancy is an inherited ability depending entirely on ingesting specific metals.  Most people who are gifted with Allomancy are only able to use one of the metals, however those few who can use all of them are known as Mistborn.  Their powers range from enhanced strength to the manipulation of emotions, and I felt like each of the powers from the primary metals in this book were well described in a way that made the book that much richer.

Additionally, this story had a lot of fun characters.  I found Kelsier and Vin, the two main protagonists, the most fascinating since they offered different perspectives on the same issues.  Meanwhile, the supporting characters were all wonderful in their own ways.  I felt like only a few of them got proper development, however I feel confident that this will change in the next two books. Considering the sheer amount of character development that went into Kelsier, Vin, and a few of the other side characters, I can’t imagine Sanderson failing to shed the spotlight on those returning who didn’t get it the first time around.  Most importantly, Lord Elend was easily my favorite.  As my new book boyfriend, he joins the ranks of William Herondale and Rhysand as a top-notch fictional crush. 💖 👌

FINAL SCORE: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 9/10 Stars.

This book knocked my socks off.  The only reason I’m not giving it 10/10 stars is because like I said, there are a few things I would like to see more of in the later books before I give it a full 10/10, such as more side character development as well as worldbuilding in the more mundane aspects of the series, such as economics and production since I am a total weirdo who wants to know more of these things. Definitely give this one a read though!

One thought on “The Final Empire (Mistborn Book One) SPOILER FREE

Leave a Reply

