Catwoman (2004) Review

“A shy woman, endowed with the speed, reflexes, and senses of a cat, walks a thin line between criminal and hero, even as a detective doggedly pursues her, fascinated by both of her personas.”IMDB

I don’t know who gave the green-light for this movie, but honestly I would give them a pat on the back for whatever mess they created.  I’ve known about Catwoman for a very long time, but I have purposely avoided it since Catwoman is one of my favorite anti-heroes in the DC Comics lineup and the reviews for this movie are…not pretty.  When it finally got put on Netflix…well, I couldn’t resist.

I don’t even know where to begin with this movie, so I’m just going to give the best metaphor I can think of.  Catwoman was like a trip to Hot Topic back when I was 12: lots of leather, loud music, and feeling edgy even though it was really ridiculously tame.  You get it.  Maybe that’s why I enjoyed this movie as much as I did.  Much like my “edgy emo days,” Catwoman is something embarrassing to look at, but it was a fun ride anyway.

I will, however, warn anyone looking for an accurate depiction of the comic book persona of Catwoman to shy away from this.  In DC canon, Selina Kyle is the alter ego of the infamous Catwoman, and she’s much different from the Patience Philips of this movie.  Selina was everything I wanted growing up: a crazy cat lady, hot, and kind-of dating Batman, while Patience only had bits and pieces of the persona I oddly admired so much.  I definitely think that straying so far from the source material ultimately weakened the potential of this movie, but hey, I’ll take what I can get.  If you want a better depiction, I would definitely recommend Tim Burton’s classic Batman Returns (1992).  It’s still not as accurate as I would like, but it definitely captures the essence of the character much better.

FINAL SCORE: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 7/10 Stars.

That’s right, folks.  I didn’t give this movie below a 5.  You know why?  Because it was fun.  This is no well-done story like an MCU movie, but I laughed while watching it and was honestly interested in where the story was going.  So there. 😸

 

One thought on “Catwoman (2004) Review

Leave a Reply

