Summer 2017 Adventures: Washington D.C.

So in an earlier post I mentioned how I was in Washington D.C. for school earlier this summer.  Well, now it’s time to mention the fun tourist stuff I got to do!  We only had one day off for touring, but my roommate and I decided to make the most of it and see as much as we could.  We went down to the National Mall (not a retail one) and looked at the places surrounding there.  Both of us had been there previously on class trips, so we split up and went to the places we didn’t get to go to before.

dc
That 8th grade D.C. thug life

I first went to the Smithsonian Museum of Natural History, which was honestly one of the coolest museums I’ve ever been to.  The anthropology nerd in me thought the human origins section was super cool, and I finally got to see Lucy!  There were also a bunch of other highlights in the museum like the Hope Diamond, but I had already seen this on my 8th grade class trip so whatever.

Then my roommate and I met up again to go to Madame Tussand’s.  Now listen, I’m into weird crap, but I was not expecting to be so into a wax museum.  They let you pose with every figure however you want, and their specialty is the “presidential suite” where they have figures of every President of the United States.

juliette goron
Me with Juliette Gordon Low

The last interesting place I went was the National Gallery of Art and the National Portrait Gallery.  The amount of art in here was overwhelming, and unfortunately I only got to see about half of the museum before we had to go back.  This was probably my favorite place to visit, though.  There were tons of famous works I recognized from photos here, and it was crazy seeing them all in real life for the first time.

cool picture
A cool picture at the National Gallery

We also went to the Shakespeare Library and the Smithsonian Castle on our Sunday adventures.  Unfortunately, we were kind of let down by the Shakespeare Library, where there was a lot less going on than we thought would be.  The Smithsonian Castle is just a tourist center, and we stopped there for the giftshop.

Two other places of note we visited on work days were the Dumbarton Oaks gardens and museum as well as the Library of Congress.  The gardens were gorgeous, and the museum had an insane amount of precious objects from Pre-Columbian and Byzantine sites.  Meanwhile, I actually got to get a library card at the Library of Congress!  We used the main Reading Room for one of our assignments, where we got to explore the gigantic Reference Section in all its glory.

dumbarton
Dumbarton Oaks

Overall I considered my tourist adventures in D.C. as a success.  I got to see a lot of things on my to-do list, filling in the gaps where my school couldn’t due to time constraints.

flintknapp
I now leave you with these awesome flint-knapped projectile points at Dumbarton Oaks
Leave a Reply

