Spider-Man: Homecoming Review

“Peter Parker, with the help of his mentor Tony Stark, tries to balance his life as an ordinary high school student in New York City while fighting crime as his superhero alter ego Spider-Man when a new threat emerges.” – IMDB

Considering I saw this movie last week, I’m giving a pretty late review.  I was also on vacation though, so hey, I’ve got an excuse.  Anyway, this movie was amazing (haha get it?), and this is coming from a person who had very high expectations going into this movie.  I grew up reading the comics and watching the Toby McGuire Spider-Man movies more times than I can count.  I’ve seen Spider-Man 1-3 so many times I practically have them memorized (my mother loves it when my brother and I speak in Spider-Man quotes).  However, I was very disappointed with the Amazing Spider-Man 1 and 2 movies.  For some reason I was alright with the creative liberties they had taken in the first series, but the second one just went too far (that Harry Osborn and Electro still makes me cringe).  Captain America: Civil War fixed a lot of this, and I think that completely scrapping everything that came before was a perfect place to start for the MCU’s version of Spider-Man.

That’s probably what made this movie so good.  I didn’t need to see Uncle Ben die a third time, there was no tragic anime backstory showing how he got his powers, and Vulture was a breath of fresh air after seeing so many terribly-done villains in the previous Spider-Man movies.  Speaking of which, Michael Keaton was amazing, as always. I knew he would be a great Vulture based on his acting record, and the fact that he’ll always be my favorite Batman strengthens my bias for him as well.  I mean,  if the guy can go from playing Batman to Beetlejuice, there was nothing to be worried about in the first place.

Lastly, it’s time to address some of the issues others have had.  I do think that having Spidey depend so much on Tony at first wasn’t necessarily the best thing either, but I think showing his character develop into an independent hero throughout the movie fixed this problem.  Additionally, I’ve seen criticism of the side characters, especially Flash Thompson and Michelle.  I think Flash was played wonderfully by Tony Revolori, but I can see the issues with Zendaya as Michelle.  She didn’t really stick out to me at all, and while a lot of people didn’t like her character, I just thought she was a flat, counterculture stock character. I’m really hoping that she either gets a lot of character development in later movies, or stays as a less prominently featured side character.

Final Score: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 8/10 stars.  Go see it!

One thought on “Spider-Man: Homecoming Review

Leave a Reply

