June Wrap Up! // Movies and Shows

Time for the rundown on this month’s past movies for me!

the mummy

The Mummy (2017) ⭐⭐

This was easily my biggest disappoint for 2017 in movie releases.  I’m a big fan of the past movie series that came out starting in 1932 and 1999 respectively, so I was extremely biased going into this already.  Ultimately, I felt like this movie lacked in almost every department anyway.

Let’s start with the cons first, since they were only a few pros.  I felt that the story was very weak, and that the writers were just trying to tick off points on a checklist for their Hollywood execs.  Not only were they trying to kick off the Dark Universe for the new Universal Monsters, but they were also trying to reboot a movie franchise for the third time and change things up for audiences tired of the same old story.   I felt like the “Monster Hunting” association or whatever was put in way too abruptly, and needed to have either more explanation or be saved for the upcoming Bride of Frankenstein movie.  Also, Tom Cruise dragged this movie down like cement blocks in a river.  I was hoping that maybe he would bring something new to the table that Brendan Fraser did not, but instead we just got another movie with Tom Cruise acting as Tom Cruise.

Next are the few pros.  Sofia Boutella did a wonderful job as the main antagonist.  I had my doubts going in, but I felt that she performed well with what she was given.  I also felt that the aesthetics were well done, and that the costuming and editing were on point.

Ultimately, don’t got see this.  It was a huge disappointment, and you should just go watch the Boris Karloff or Brendan Fraser versions instead.

wonder woman

Wonder Woman (2017) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Listen.  This movie made me cry like four times.  It wasn’t even sad, I was just blown away to finally see a Wonder Woman movie on the big screen.  I was a huge fan growing up of the Linda Carter Wonder Woman, and I have been patiently waiting for this movie since the whole superhero-movie genre became a thing.  Gal Gadot was wonderful in this movie, and that musical score is just the coolest thing I’ve heard since the Avengers theme.  Wonder Woman is definitely my number one superhero movie of the year, and I’m pretty sure it’s become one of my favorite superhero movies of all time.

how to steal a million

How to Steal A Million (1966) ⭐⭐⭐

I ended up watching this during a movie night with some friends.  I thought it was really cute, and we all ended up enjoying it thoroughly.  It’s about a woman (played by Audrey Hepburn) who is the daughter of a professional forger of famous works of art.  She has to steal one of her father’s forgeries at a museum before it’s tested the following morning for insurance purposes, and gets the help of a strapping young man to pull off the heist.

what we do in the shadows

What We Do In the Shadows (2014) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

This movie was honestly amazing.  My brother and I watched it together on Amazon Prime Video since we’re both fans of horror and comedy, and it’s probably one of the best movies I’ve seen offered on the platform.  It’s about a group of vampires who live as roommates together in New Zealand, and each character is a different archetype of vampires in pop culture.  So you’ve got a classic Nosferatu, an Interview With a Vampire, Twilight, and Rob Zombie/Ozzy Osbourne? all having a good old time in a sick bachelor pad for bloodsuckers.  The director of the upcoming Thor: Ragnarok also directed this movie, which has just made me more excited for that movie (as if the trailer wasn’t enough).

Shows

its always sunny

It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia (2005) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

So I finally caught up with It’s Always Sunny on Netflix, which was a very good decision on my part.  There are currently 12 seasons, with 11 posted on Netflix, about a group of alcoholics who own a bar together in Philadelphia and get up to ridiculous hijinks.  It’s definitely a black comedy, and often makes jokes about political issues from the years each season was produced in.  Day Man will always hold a special place in my heart, and I hope we find out what the heck ‘Nightcrawlers’ is in the upcoming seasons.

Leave a Reply

