June Wrap-Up! // Books

June was a pretty eventful month for me.  I worked a lot, but I had time to read quite a bit too.

macbeth

Macbeth (~1697) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I never read this in high school, so I decided to give it a go before I left for DC.  This was honestly a great choice, and I loved every minute of it.  I think everyone knows what this is about, but for those who don’t, this is about a guy named Macbeth who wants to be king.  He has dangerous ambition, and Shakespearean tragedy ensues.

laika

Laika (2007) ⭐⭐⭐

I’m not a dog or a Russian history person, but I thought this graphic novel was great for what it was.  I loved hearing about history from a communist perspective, just because I feel like listening to points-of-view from countries America was against at certain points in history is really important in gaining an understanding of other cultures.   This is the story of the dog Laika, who was sent into space by the Soviet Union in 1957.  I felt that the author treated the subject matter well, and I liked reading about this story despite not really having any interest in the topic except space history

the slippery slope

The Slippery Slope (2003) ⭐⭐⭐⭐

I’ve been really enjoying A Series of Unfortunate Events, and I’m really excited to continue on with it after this.  Since this is the 11th book in the series, I won’t go into details about this particular installment.  For those curious, it’s about a group of three siblings named the Baudelaires who undergo “A Series of Unfortunate Events” in this middle-grade series caused by the evil Count Olaf and his schemes.

300

300 (1998) ⭐

I was really disappointed in this.  I’ll just paste my GoodReads Review here so you can understand why:

Listen, this book was gorgeous. I was enthralled each time I turned the page and saw the beautiful illustrations laid out on the pages. It was the type of stuff you’d put up in your room as a poster. However, the story was lacking for me. I study Classics, so I wasn’t a fan of the liberal artistic freedom Frank Miller used in this work to depict a well-known Greek battle. The idea that the Persians were barbarians was also a turn off for me, since it really understates how influential and civilized they were. The Battle of Thermophylae was important not because it was a battle between reason and barbarism, but an ideological struggle that would determine the most influential power on the continent. Greece ended up winning out, which is why today so many European cultures are influenced by Greek and not Persian culture.
So yeah. Not Frank Miller’s best work, but definitely worth looking at for its brevity, influence, and stunning art.

There you have it!  I may post a TBR list, since I have a lot of books I’m about to finish and I’m very excited to start following along with a Dune Book Club next month.

Leave a Reply

